

PANOLA COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT

1736 BALLPARK DR. CARTHAGE, TEXAS 75633 (903) 693-2891 FAX (903) 693-8229

August 29, 2019

Panola County 110 S Sycamore, Room 216-A Carthage TX 75633 Attn: Judge LeeAnn Jones

RE: 2020-2021 Up Coming Election Notice

Dear Judge Jones:

This fall there will be an election of five (5) directors for the 2020 - 2021 term of the Board of Directors. All county appraisal district directors serve two-year terms, which begin on January 1 of even number years. The Panola County Appraisal District's Board of Directors do not have staggered terms like the Appraisal Review Board, nor do they have term limitations.

To be eligible to serve on the board of directors, an individual other than a county assessor-collector serving as a non-voting director of the district must have resided in the district for at least two (2) years immediately preceding the date the individual takes office. An individual who is otherwise eligible to serve on the board is not ineligible because of membership on the governing body of a taxing unit. An employee of a taxing unit that participates in the district is not eligible to serve on the board unless the individual is also a member of the governing body or an elected official of a taxing unit that participates in the District. Effective September 1, 2001, HB 490 restricts an individual from serving as an appraisal district director if the individual owes delinquent taxes for more than sixty (60) days after the individual knew or should have known of the delinquency. This restriction does not apply if the taxes are under an installment payment agreement or a tax deferral/abatement.

Section 6.03 of the Texas Property Tax Code requires the Chief Appraiser to calculate the number of votes for each voting unit in the CAD and notify the units **before October 1**. The number of votes for each unit is based on the ratio of the unit's tax levy in the preceding year to the total taxes levied by all voting units in the preceding year. Enclosed you will find a worksheet of your allocated votes.

Each voting unit may nominate by resolution adopted by its governing body, one candidate for each position to be filled and submit the name(s) to the chief appraiser **before October 15**. Therefore, you may nominate up to five (5) candidates. Please place this item on your agenda for your <u>September</u> meeting and provide the results to the Panola County Appraisal District's office upon the decision made by your district so that we may begin preparation for the next step in the election.

Before October 30, I will prepare a ballot and deliver a copy of the ballot to each taxing unit entitled to vote. Each taxing unit shall vote by resolution and submit the results to me before December 15, or after your November board meeting. I will count the votes, declare the five candidates who received the largest cumulative vote totals, and notify you and the five new directors of the results before December 31. Thank you in advance for electing a progressive Board for the 2020 - 2021 term. Each board member actively participates and contributes to the success of our organization.

Should you have any questions regarding the calculations, please feel free to call me.

Sincerely,

Douglas McPhail, RPA

Chief Appraiser

DM/jm

Panola County Appraisal District 2020-2021 Board of Directors Selection Process

Nomination and Resolution

Whereas, Panola County and Panola County Special has the opportunity to submit nominations for five (5) director positions on the Panola County Appraisal District's Board of Directors.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by Panola County that, in an open meeting,

nominated the following five (5) people to serve on the 2020-2021 Board of
Directors:
1. Walte Cooke
2. Dick Williams
3. Illulie Crawfund
4. Jerry Hanssen
5. Fruh Langley
Passed and approved on this the
Leelm Joses
Presiding Officer

Please return this form before Tuesday October 15, 2019 to:

Douglas McPhail, Chief Appraiser Panola County Appraisal District 1736 Ballpark Drive Carthage TX 75633

2018-2019 Board of Directors for the Panola County Appraisal District

The following list is being provided for informational purposes only.

Cody Cockerham, Chairman

Debbie Crawford, Secretary

Walta Cooke

Virgil Wedgeworth

Keith Williams

2020-2021 Board of Directors Vote Allocation Worksheet

	NINE	ONE HUNDRED EIGHTY-THREE	ONE	TWO HUNDRED SEVENTY-THREE	TWO THOUSAND SEVEN	ONE HUNDRED TEN	ONE HUNDRED SEVENTY	THIRTY	SIXTY-THREE	ONE	ONE THOUSAND FOUR HUNDRED FORTY-TWO	FORTY-ONE	SIX HUNDRED SIXTY-NINE	
Vote Allocations	6	183	-	273	2,007	110	170	30	63		1,442	14	699	5,000
# of Seats	5	5	5	5	5	5	N.	S	S	٠	5.	S	S	
Multiplier	1000	1000	1000	1000	1000	1000	1000	1000	1000	1000	1000	1000	1000	
Total Levy	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	67,518,243.71	5 5 5 6 5
2018 Unit Levy	128,095.16	2,466,755.86	14,955.22	3,689,675.17	27,106,127.46	1,484,218.05	2,289,146.73	404,510.07	852,791.51	19,821.16	19,474,796.57	549,468.40	9,037,882.35	67,518,243.71
Taxing Unit	City of Beckville	City of Carthage	City of Tatum	Beckville ISD	Carthage ISD	Elysian Fields ISD	Gary ISD	Joaquin ISD	Tatum ISD	Tenaha ISD	Panola County	Panola County Special	Panola College	

Panola County Appraisal District

2018-2019 Board of Directors Selection Texas Property Tax Code Section 6.03 (k)

Candidates

1 66 66 183 274 193 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	kville thage um th D SD ds ISD	walfa Cooke V	Debbie Crawford	Torre Hangson	Transfe Fondless	Monthly Character	2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	\
Thage G7 66 66 66 66 66 66 66	thage tun typ typ ds ISD					Acountie Summons	Virgii wediteworm	Kelth Williams V
Thage G7 66 66 66 67 66 66 67 66 67 66 67 66 67 6	um ID SD ds ISD							京 大学 新 安
1	ds ISD	19		99				4
SD 369 320 183 274 183 160 344 161 162 162 163 164 165	OSI SD		1	3				
Sign 369 320 183 274 183 160 344	ds ISD							
15.	Elyslan Fletds ISD Gary ISD Joaquin ISD	320	183	274	183	971	244	202
1017 1023 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	Gary ISD Joaquin ISD Transon 15D						440	617
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	Joaquin ISD							
thy 1 1 1 1923 1023 1 1 1sy Special 33 33 296 2ge 297 296 296 666 387 1240 341 184 160 640	Total ISB							
nty 1 1 1 nty Special 33 297 296 ge 566 387 1240 341 184 160 640 362	Actual 13D							
aty 1023 1023 sty Special 33 33 ge 297 1240 341 184 160	Tenaha ISD			-	_			57
1dy Special 33 36 36 360 387 1240 341 184 160	Panola County		1023		•			
Fig. 297 1240 341 184 160	Panola County Special		33					
666 387 1240 341 184 160							206	
		387	1240	341	184	160	6410	***************************************